Posts Tagged ‘NBA ref Bob Delaney (#26)’

Bulls-Hawks (Game 6): Bad game overall, but at least a few calls to feature

May 13th, 2011 2 comments

If you watched the Chicago-Atlanta game last night, which eliminated the Hawks from the playoffs, it wasn’t that great of a game to watch since Chicago seemed to have it in the bag most of the game. We had a hard time finding any calls worth mentioning, but found a couple, which include:

– A walk by Joakim Noah that happens right in front of the refs in near slow-motion, and no ref catches it
– A block by Zaza Pachulia on Derrick Rose that the ref Bob Delaney (#26) easily missed
– A flop from Keith Bogans that was so over-the-top, the ref must have blown off the contact because of such bad acting
– A hilarious flop from Omar Asik after a slight push from Pachulia

Heat-Celtics (Game 3): Refs not a problem, except for this one no-call hard to miss

May 8th, 2011 4 comments

We’ve been on a streak of good officiating where there hasn’t been any major blown calls that had a huge impact on the outcome of a game. After all, we’ve now got the “best” referees as graded by the league officiating the four series currently being played. We’ve also had games that haven’t been that close in the 3rd and 4th quarters, so the stakes haven’t been as high for a call or no-call to affect the outcome.

For Saturday’s games between Oklahoma City and Memphis, although it was a close game that went into overtime, there really wasn’t a bad ref call or no-call that could have changed the outcome. Same goes for Miami-Boston. We thought the play where Rajon Rondo fell to the floor with Dwyane Wade and dislocated his elbow was more of an accident where a no-call was the right call to make.

The only other call/no-call that stood out was in the 3rd quarter involving Ray Allen taking a shot, and obviously getting fouled by Wade, but there was no call.

Pacers-Bulls (Game 2): Controversial play with Hibbert late in game shouldn’t have happened

April 19th, 2011 10 comments

Since the 76er-Heat game on Monday night was a blowout where there weren’t any impactful ref calls that could have changed the outcome, we’re going to focus on the Pacers-Bulls game, which was a completely different story.

There were several bad calls (and good calls) in a fairly physical 4th quarter in this game. They are too numerous to go through in this post, but we’ll try to get to some more of them posted on Tuesday. For this post we are featuring what we think will be on Tuesday the most talked about play from the game.

It’s the alleged Roy Hibbert “push-off” foul on Joakim Noah the refs called against Hibbert with one minute remaining in the game, Pacers down 90-85. It was a huge call since it kept the margin wide enough for Chicago to hold on for the win and go up 2-0 in the series.

It’s a tough call to make for most refs. TNT analyst Chris Webber does have a point in his commentary that there was probably enough separation between the two players that made the contact Hibbert initiated “incidental.”

But after looking at the replay many times, it’s still very subjective. If I were the ref, I wouldn’t have made that call because Hibbert’s arm wasn’t creating separation — he already had enough since Noah was originally far enough away from Hibbert, relatively speaking.

However, the point that I’m sure alot of people are missing is that Hibbert’s shot attempt should have been waved off because…HE TRAVELED! Check out the video below where you’ll see Hibbert not only lifts his pivot foot before taking the shot, he puts it down and lifts it again!

The refs who missed this travel are Bob Delaney (#26), Marc Davis (#34), and Rodney Mott (#71).

It’s amazing that refs miss relatively easy travel calls like this one. Have we let the game of basketball get so out-of-hand and away from the rulebook that “expert” TV analysts who used to play in the NBA don’t even look for it anymore? At least you can see in the video on the sidelines that Chicago coach Tom Thibodeau makes a traveling signal with his hands.

In cased you haven’t seen it yet, we address the whole problem of missed travels in the NBA — which is one of the most overlooked aspects of the game in our opinion — in this video at Check it out if you have some time.

Heat vs. 76ers (Game 1): Wade pushes off with leg on big basket and gets away with it

April 16th, 2011 No comments

A big no-call occurred in the Miami-76er game today. Miami was leading 90-87 with about 1:36 remaining when Dwyane Wade drove to the basket, went airborne, extended his leg to create separation between himself and Thaddeus Young, scored and Young was called for a foul.

What should have happened is that Wade should have been called for an offensive foul, with the 76ers getting the ball. But instead ref Bob Delaney (#26) blew the call, and the basket and penalty free throw basically sealed the win for the Heat.

The rulebook clearly states:

A player shall not hold, push, charge into, impede the progress of an opponent by extending a hand, arm, leg or knee or by bending the body into a position that is not normal. Contact that results in the re-routing of an opponent is a foul which must be called immediately.

In another part, it states:

An offensive foul shall be assessed if the player initiates contact in a non-basketball manner (leads with his foot, an unnatural extended knee, etc.).

You’ll hear analyst Jeff Van Gundy reference this fact somewhat, but he didn’t seem quite sure if using the leg to create separation is legal or not. At first he said it could “easily be construed” as a foul, then later compliments Wade for creating nice separation with his leg. Maybe he was being sarcastic on the second remark. Not only could it be construed as an offensive foul, it SHOULD be a foul based on the rulebook’s language.

It would have nice if fellow ref Sean Wright (#65), who also had a decent angle on the play, had come over to Delaney to correct him and let him know it was an offensive foul on Wade, then have the refs wave off the basket and the foul. But you’ll never see that happen on a play like this, especially when you have a legend like Delaney making a call like this in front a boisterous home crowd going crazy (in a good way) after the foul call.

What’s a shame is that Delaney did a good job NOT calling a foul right before Wade extended his leg when there was incidental contact between Wade and Young on Wade’s drive. We absolutely hate it when refs call ticky-tack fouls when contact is negligible, and the rulebook even states that refs have discretion in determining what’s incidental or not. So good for Delaney for not calling a foul on the incidental contact.

But when a player extends his leg to create separation, that goes too far. Too bad it had an effect on the outcome of Game 1 of what will be a very entertaining series.