Archive

Archive for the ‘San Antonio Spurs’ Category

Spurs-Grizzlies (Game 6): a couple of questionable calls/no-calls could have made it a little closer at the end

April 30th, 2011 1 comment

As you know by now, the Spurs were eliminated from the playoffs last night. There were only a couple of calls we saw in the second half that could have changed the outcome, as you’ll see in the video below.

If things had gone San Antonio’s way on these calls, it could have meant up to a 4-point increase for the Spurs, making things a little tighter near the end of a close game.

For example, the ticky-tack foul call on Antonio McDyess by referee Bennett Salvatore (#15) sent Zach Randolph to the line, extending the lead from 5 points to 7 with less than 3 minutes remaining in the game. Those were huge points on such little contact from so far away from the basket, and it’s a shame Salvatore called a ticky-tack foul in that situation.

We didn’t see any calls that wrongly penalized Memphis, but if you saw some, let us know and we’ll take a look and log it into our database if we agree.

Grizzlies-Spurs (Game 5): Incredible finish, but lots of ticky-tack fouls & potential missed goaltending

April 28th, 2011 2 comments

Last night the Spurs-Grizzlies game was a classic because of the Spurs’ Gary Neal‘s clock-beating 3-pointer that sent the game into overtime, among many reasons.

However, the game seemed to have a higher number of ticky-tack foul calls than normal, and had a potential goaltending call in overtime that could have affected the outcome. Check out the video below for evidence…

Grizzlies-Spurs (Game 2): Was this a charge or block? Plus, a good no-call on major flop

April 21st, 2011 5 comments

For a game that was relatively close Wednesday night between San Antonio and Memphis, fortunately we didn’t see any terrible calls down the stretch that would have changed the outcome of the game.

However, we did want to feature one foul in the 3rd quarter that we thought was very questionable. Check it out in the video below and see if you agree with referee Leon Wood (#40). We know many of you will say there were many more questionable calls than this, but we have to pick-and-choose one of the best, okay?

In the second clip, we feature an Oscar-winning performance by Memphis forward Shane Battier, which the refs correctly called as a no-call.

While checking these clips out, also listen to the overflowing remarks about Manu Ginobili from Spurs’ broadcasters Bill Land and former player Sean Elliott. It was drooling remarks like these the whole game that prompted ESPN.com’s Bill Simmons to tweet what’s posted below the video player. (We just had to throw it in there).

Bill Simmons’ tweets about the Spurs’ announcers 4/20/11

Grizzlies vs. Spurs (Game 1): Not much controversial, but some good flops from Bonner

April 17th, 2011 No comments

We are working hard on reporting some of the worst and best ref calls from today’s (Sunday) playoff action. Here’s a report from the first game of the series: Game 1 of Grizzlies-Spurs.

There weren’t any controversial calls or no-calls that had a major impact on the outcome of this game. However, there were a couple of flops worth noting that our sister site TopFlops.com has reported.

On the first flop in the 2nd quarter, Bonner appeared to get hit in the face as he was shooting, then put his hand over his right eye as he crumpled to the floor in what looked like major pain.

But when Bonner got up, somehow magically he was fine, not even having to TOUCH his face after such a ‘painful’ blow. I think most people would have continued to at least touch their wound getting up after such trauma to the face. He probably did get touched in the face slightly for a legitimate foul, but c’mon Bonner, you have to sell it all the way after getting up until you shoot your free throws!

On the second play featured in the video, Bonner threw himself out of bounds after getting slightly touched, if at all, but referee Dan Crawford (#23) actually rewarded him with two free throwss.

This bad call didn’t hurt Memphis because they ultimately won thanks to a Shane Battier 3-pointer near the end of the game, but Bonner’s two free throws after this flop did make the game closer than it should have been.

Props go to analyst Kevin McHale who made fun of Bonner’s flop after the play.

More coverage from Sunday’s other playoff games is coming, so stay tuned.

Ref calls foul on Grant Hill just for running and falling

April 15th, 2011 No comments

We’ve always wondered why refs feel like they have to blow the whistle whenever a player falls to the floor, but a foul really isn’t warranted, assuming the ref was watching carefully.

That’s what happened on Wednesday when Manu Ginobili was willing to sacrifice his arm, elbow and body trying to draw a foul against Grant Hill.

Check out the video on TopFlops.com (our sister site) where you’ll see Ginobiili sticking his arm out in Hill’s path, getting it hyperextended, falling to the floor, taking Hill down with him, and referee David Jones calling a foul on Hill.

Hill should not be penalized for Ginobili being careless enough to put his arm in a position where Hill was going to run into it. If Ginobili’s arm hadn’t gotten stuck on Duncan’s body for a split second and essentially serve as a gate, there probably would have been no foul called. But it’s not Hill’s fault that Ginobili put his arm in such peril.

Sure, play is somewhat disrupted with a player or two on the floor, but for once we’d like to see play continue in a halfcourt situation when two or more players fall to the floor without a whistle being blown.

You usually do NOT see refs blow the whistle if possession of the ball immediately changes, especially if a fast break starts the other way. They probably don’t want to let an exciting, fast break opportunity get stopped just because a couple of players are on the floor after contact is made.

But this interpretation is prone to being abused by players like Ginobili who are willing to get in an opponent’s way, taking his man down with him. In this case, it ended up hurting Ginobili physically. Maybe the pain he suffered will make him less inclined to do it in the future.

Analysis: the fouls that got Kobe mad before his homophobic slur

April 14th, 2011 1 comment

We all know Kobe Bryant got into a lot of trouble this week by uttering that infamous homophobic slur. But no one is really talking about the fouls called against him that preceded it.

Well, we take a closer look in the video below.

Kobe was guarded by the Spurs’ James Anderson, battling for position in the post. Anderson was backing into Kobe, and Kobe responded by using his body to get position against Anderson’s moving into him. Both players were making contact with each other, but nothing in our opinion to warrant a foul just against Kobe.

We actually think it should have been a no-call, but if referee Bennie Adams was going to call a foul, he should have called a double-foul on both players because they were equally going after it. Believe us, we’re not Kobe fans nor Laker fans. Just being impartial.

A few seconds later, Kobe got T’d up for a “respect of the game” violation by complaining to Adams demonstrably. Although we think this new rule is silly, Adams’ calling a tech on Kobe isn’t unusual based on what we saw other refs call this season.

We can understand how a self-proclaimed “old schooler” like Kobe could get frustrated by two violations called against him when back in the 90’s when he was a rookie (or a generation before when his father played in the NBA), those fouls would have been unheard of. Not an excuse for yelling what he did, though.

Note: we haven’t included video of Kobe yelling the slur. There’s no sense in doing it, and a quick Google search will reveal what he said that has two words, both starting with “F.”

Good no-call on Manu’s injury-inducing flop

April 9th, 2011 4 comments

NBA referee Jason Phillips (#23) deserves a lot of credit for not being duped by Manu Ginobili’s flop against the Grizzlies on March 28th.

As written on our sister site TopFlops.com

It just goes to show if you flop enough like Manu does (ranked #2 in a recent Sports Illustrated players’ poll), you’re eventually going to get hurt.

Because of the thigh contusion he suffered as he jerked his leg up against Marc Gasol trying to draw a foul, Ginobili only played 19 minutes, scored two points, and the Spurs ended up losing the game.

Wouldn’t it have been something if the Spurs had lost home court advantage throughout the Western Conference playoffs by one game, and this loss against a beatable Grizzlies team with Ginobili not playing a complete game being one of the reasons why?

At the 1:05 mark, you can see it’s not just us saying Ginobili got hurt because of the flop…even the Memphis announcers say it!