Home > Dallas Mavericks, LA Lakers > Mavericks-Lakers (Game 2): No big wrong calls, but waiting to see what league does about Artest foul

Mavericks-Lakers (Game 2): No big wrong calls, but waiting to see what league does about Artest foul

Both of Wednesday night’s games (Atlanta-Chicago, Dallas-LA) weren’t really in question in the fourth quarter where a call or no-call would have changed the outcome. The main interesting call for the night happened in LA, which was a correct one called against Ron Artest for slapping Jose Barea in the face in the game’s final seconds during garbage time, earning Artest his second technical and an automatic ejection.

It will be interesting to see if the league will suspend Artest for Game 3. Considering how the Lakers have played in the first two games, a suspension of Artest could hurt LA’s chances even more in Game 3. Will the league have the courage to do it?

  • Stu

    how about a replay of Dirk’s elbow to Artest’s head from game 1…

    • One

      How about a replay of Artest pushing Dirk under the basket, prompting the elbow?

      • Stu

        let’s see it…and the rule book that says a retaliatory elbow is ok

  • Pessimism

    This is certainly a foul on Artest. It’s also, upon closer viewing, not nearly as bad as it looks. Barea, by force of habit, greatly exaggerates the impact of the blow. The Boy Who Cried Wolf strikes again. I don’t think Artest should be suspended.